Felix Mendelssohn

Konzertstück No. 1, for Clarinet, Bassoon and Piano

Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel

Piano Trio in D Minor

Felix Mendelssohn

Quartet in F Minor

About This Program

The Piano Trio of Fanny Hensel and the last quartet of her brother Felix Mendelssohn, both written within six months of each other in 1847, are inextricably tied together by the tragic circumstances of their composition. The passion and lyricism of Hensel’s Trio are brought to a fever pitch in Mendelssohn’s quartet, which was written in an outpouring of grief over his sister’s death from a stroke. Just six months later Mendelssohn also died of a stroke. The Konzertstück that opens the program harkens back to a happier time fifteen years earlier when Felix dashed off this charming showpiece for two friends after sharing a meal together


SPCO concerts are made possible by audience contributions.


For exclusive discounts, behind-the-scenes info, and more:
Sign up for our email club!