Robert Schumann

Elegy from the Violin Concerto in D Minor

Franz Joseph Haydn

Symphony No. 45, Farewell

About This Program

The incomparable Patricia Kopatchinskaja returns to the SPCO with long time duo partner, Russian pianist Polina Leschenko, to perform Mendelssohn’s rarely heard Double Concerto for Violin, Piano and Strings. The haunting echoes of the theme from Robert Schumann’s Ghost Variations start off the concert with a dialogue of sorts between Robert and Clara Schumann, including her lovely Romances, and the achingly beautiful slow movement of his lone Violin Concerto (with a little coda provided by Benjamin Britten). Kopatchinskaja also leads the SPCO in Haydn’s Farewell Symphony in an interpretation that is sure to be unforgettable.


SPCO concerts are made possible by audience contributions.


For exclusive discounts, behind-the-scenes info, and more:
Sign up for our email club!