Pietro Locatelli

Concerto Grosso, Opus 7, No. 6

Jonathan Cohen, director and harpsichord

Franz Joseph Haydn

Symphony No. 7, Noon

About This Program

Stabat Mater is based on a medieval poem honoring the suffering of Mary as she witnessed Jesus’s crucifixion. While many composers have set this text to music, Pergolesi’s iteration remains a poignant statement on a mother’s loss, displaying an emotional intimacy in an era when much sacred music tended toward the austere. Pergolesi’s evocative work serves as a centerpiece for reflection this Easter holiday. Music from Italian Baroque composer Locatelli opens this program, and is followed by one of Haydn’s earliest symphonies, Symphony No. 7.


SPCO concerts are made possible by audience contributions.


For exclusive discounts, behind-the-scenes info, and more:
Sign up for our email club!