Steven Copes Plays Beethoven’s Violin Concerto

January 12-14, 2018


American composer Jessie Montgomery’s Records from a Vanishing City evokes the vibrancy of her 20th-century New York upbringing and reflects on the disappearance of communities in the face of rapid gentrification. Iconic works by Beethoven bookend the Midwest premiere of Montgomery’s work, with SPCO Concertmaster Steven Copes as soloist on Beethoven’s extremely virtuosic Violin Concerto, which at its inception pushed the limits of the concerto form and continues to challenge violinists and electrify audiences today.


Jessie Montgomery
Records from a Vanishing City for Chamber Orchestra (Midwest premiere)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Grosse Fuge for String Quartet

Ludwig van Beethoven
Violin Concerto

Times & Locations

January 12, 2018 – 8:00 PM
Ordway Concert Hall

January 13, 2018 – 8:00 PM
Ordway Concert Hall

January 14, 2018 – 2:00 PM
Arden Hills/Bethel

Order By Phone

SPCO Ticket Office:

(651) 291-1144

12 p.m. - 5 p.m. Monday-Friday
11 a.m. - 3 p.m. Saturday

Order Online

Please be aware that our ticketing system is not optimized for mobile devices.

Select Performance:
Home Switch to Full Site
© 2018 The Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra