Dvořák in America

Buy Tickets
Buy Tickets
Buy Tickets
Buy Tickets
Buy Tickets
  • Steve And Ruggero / Ash & James


Chevalier de Saint-Georges

Symphony No. 1

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Serenade No. 12 in C Minor for Wind Octet

Antonín Dvořák

American Quartet for String Orchestra

Wynton Marsalis

Selections from At the Octoroon Balls

About This Program

This program opens with the First Symphony by French composer Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges, the first known Classical composer of African ancestry, and is followed by the dance-like Serenade No. 12 by his contemporary, Mozart. The second half of the program showcases works written in America. At the Octoroon Balls, inspired by Marsalis’s early years in New Orleans, explores American Creole life with jazz and fiddle influences. The program finishes with Dvořák’s popular American Quartet, which was written while the composer was living in the United States. The melodies in this work are inspired from American folk music he heard through his travels throughout the Eastern and Midwestern United States.