Mozart’s Haffner Symphony


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Divertimento in B-Flat

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Six German Dances

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Symphony No. 35, Haffner

About This Program

Mozart’s career was often borne along by commissioned composition of incidental music. Both the divertimento and the serenade that later became the Haffner Symphony were intended originally as background music, the former for parties in Salzburg and the latter for the ennoblement of Sigmund Haffner. The reworking of the serenade into a symphony brought Mozart’s voice strongly to the fore, with a commanding sound and inventiveness that demands attention. The Six German Dances fills out this all-Mozart program.