About This Program

Approximate length 1:22

Arensky’s Quartet in A Minor is often considered one of the finest Russian string quartets ever written and an homage to his beloved friend Tchaikovsky, with the second movement being a set of variations on a theme by Tchaikovsky. Mozart’s A Major Flute Quartet stands in contrast to the Arensky quartet with its sunny lyricism and wit. Polish composer Graznya Bacewicz was a prolific writer of chamber music, and her Fourth String Quartet reveals her talent at writing for strings.


SPCO concerts are made possible by audience contributions.


For exclusive discounts, behind-the-scenes info, and more:
Sign up for our email club!