T.J. Cole

Death of the Poet

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Horn Concerto No. 4 in E flat

James Ferree, horn

Ludwig van Beethoven


About This Program

Approximate length 1:27

SPCO Principal Horn James Ferree takes the solo for Mozart’s Fourth Horn Concerto, a part written with the virtuoso Joseph Leutgeb in mind and with four different color inks in what is thought to be a “color code.” Beethoven’s Septet will close the concert, a one of his most popular works while he was alive, and TJ Cole’s heartfelt Death of a Poet will open the concert.